Rediscovering the older past through the younger past

Great essay at the Chronicle of Higher Ed on Google Books’ rediscovery of the long 19C.

High notes for EMEMHians like myself include:

Good stuff. And free.

Tags:

4 responses to “Rediscovering the older past through the younger past”

  1. Erik Lund says :

    Awesome! Now that their work is getting the exposure it deserves, is it too much to hope that the Historical section of the k. u. k. General Staff will get off their duffs and finish Krieges Maria Theresia?

    • jostwald says :

      I know people have wondered the same thing about the Dutch Het Staatsche Leger. But now that I think of it, the French Mémoires militaires only covered the Spanish Succession, and it didn’t even include the Iberian theater. But I guess three out of four aint’ bad…

  2. Wienand Drenth says :

    Good you summarized these sources. In particular the last has been, and still is, indispensable for my research.

    A big drawback, as least for us Europeans, is that most of these are not accessible via Google Books 😦 . But luckily most of the works are hosted via http://www.archive.org.

    • jostwald says :

      I keep forgetting how irregular copyright laws are in other countries. Thanks to Google et al I now have about 99.7% of the published works cited in my diss in PDF format, and a few thousand more that weren’t included. So it’s hard for me to remember the bad old days when you had to visit a rare book room just to look at a 2-volume work for a few hours.
      European academics should make research trips to the US just to download Google books. I know I spent one evening in Utrecht checking out the Dutch Google Books to make sure I didn’t miss anything.
      If only there were some way to share information across national borders, some way to make the cost of data transfer almost nil…

Leave a Reply

