The French Revolutionary Wars as you might have seen them

I’m moving into the revolutionary section of my European Warfare, 1337-1815 course, so I thought I’d throw up (not literally) a slightly different type of time chart that I’ve developed. Since entire courses are taught on the few decades from 1789-1815 (including by me), it makes sense to get a bit more granular about those years. Hence a more detailed time chart, month by bloody month.

The events on this first time chart actually have less to do with war and more with political events, but then I can’t lecture about war all the time.

French Revolutionary time chart

French Revolutionary time chart

But I can lecture about war a lot of the time:

FrRevWars1789-1795

I don’t think I’ve posted an example of this type of (monthly) chart, but then again, I have put up almost 300 posts. As usual, there are plenty of opportunities for improvements, but that would take time.

Tags:

2 responses to “The French Revolutionary Wars as you might have seen them”

  1. Gene Hughson says :

    “The events on this first time chart actually have less to do with war and more with political events”

    Politics is war by other means?

    I think this is the first time you’ve posted this type of chart. In my opinion, it’s an excellent visualization tool.

  2. Erik Lund says :

    “1337.”

    I see what you did there.

Leave a Reply

