Military Strategy For Dummies

Here is a simple operational-level map I created for my European Warfare class to try to reinforce the ideas of:

  1. What the operational level entails, and looks like on a map, particularly in contrast with a tactical-level map.
  2. How an army has multiple strategies available to it in order to achieve its strategic objectives. There are others I could have included if I’d had time (esp. amphibious).
Feel free to use, with proper attribution of course

Will the reds and blues ever just learn to get along?

Of course as we get further into the 18C and start talking about Napoleon et al, we’ll complicate it with the “operational art”: multiple armies, marching by different routes, etc.

And let’s not forget that whole DIMEFIL thing, courtesy of the DoD.

Feel free to use (because you know you want to), with proper attribution, of course.

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Military Strategy For Dummies”

  1. Chris Parrott says :

    How about Insurrection, promotion of?

    • jostwald says :

      There’s a bunch I left out – I’ll post a revised strategy matrix when I have time. As for indicating insurrection on the map, I suppose I’d need to draw little pitchforks or something…

Leave a Reply

