Got Things Done

 

Got Promoted

And for those who need statistics from my first full academic year of real GTD use:
Total tasks completed (i.e. those that I bothered to enter into Pocket Informant and not just do right away) from 2015.08.22 to 2016.05.11:
1200 tasks (probably 3-5 hours-worth of entry time over the span of 8 months).

And to see how much I used the various pieces of metadata, and to get a better sense of what I did with my time, in broad brushstrokes, I record the following summaries for posterity:

PI Tasks by Project

Screenshot 2016-05-12 14.20.31

Screenshot 2016-05-12 14.26.09

 

I wouldn’t analyze these too closely, since some tasks were deleted, since not every task had every possible piece of metadata – some of them were just ephemeral reminders to myself (“Bring cheese”) set up with Siri, and since different tasks required differing amounts of time to complete. But still, it’s kinda interesting, if you’re into that kind of thing…

And speaking of generic end-of-academic-year checklists:

  • Clean work office
  • Inventory work office supplies
  • Bring home perishable food items (office, fridge)
  • Clean up computer folders on work computer
  • Copy work computer course folders to Dropbox
  • Order any outstanding textbooks for next semester
  • Wish happy summer to faculty/staff
  • Return library books
  • Update CV
  • Write semester-end thoughts for each course (keep textbook? different assignments…)
  • Brainstorm generic teaching improvements
  • Clean home office

Ha! Thought I’d let a GTD post go by without a checklist? You’ve been chklstd!

Tags:

3 responses to “Got Things Done”

  1. jostwald says :

    That explains it. I wondered why my Inbox stats (i.e. tasks without an assigned project) were so high – it’s because I deleted the AU15 projects at the end of the fall semester, which, as Pocket Informant’s warning message tells you, won’t delete the tasks in the project, but it then shifts them to the Inbox. Thus, those fall tasks are categorized correctly in the Context and Tag stats, but lumped together under Inbox in the Project stats. So that explains where my Crusades and Western Civ tasks went!
    In the future, I’ll wait to delete the projects until after I’ve done my year-end summary, maybe add a Z prefix so they sort at the bottom of the (long) list of projects.

  2. Bjorn Thegeby says :

    Looking at the screenshot, congratulations. Very discreet way of letting us know 😉

Leave a Reply

